Someplace else to find me…

An opportunity to blog for the hockey based website From the Point has come my way recently, and today is my first installment. I’d like to thank Brian Metzer for inviting me aboard, and, even though it’s basically a Penguins site, I’ll do my best not to ruffle any feathers with my Flyers talk.

Hopefully having a weekly gig will also find me writing more here…we shall see.

********************************************************

Unless you take part in a Playoff Pool, the end of the NHL regular season also marked the end of your annual fantasy hockey campaign. If you’re anything like me, the sudden slamming of the fantasy door in your face has left a certain void. The saving grace for me is that I am involved in two leagues of the ‘keeper’ variety: one which allows 7 players to be held over, while the other is a “Dynasty League”, where (after the grueling 62-round inaugural draft we went through this season) the only changes to your squad year to year are the result of your own transactions and the annual Entry Draft.

Single-year leagues are over and done, but keeper leagues have merely gone on hiatus, at least through the post season. Thoughts of which players to hang on to for next season – and the possible return-in-trade for those who don’t make your personal cut – are probably already on your mind. I keep my hockey motor running all year, and I get my mental lists started as the NHL playoffs begin.

Read more…

Leave a comment